• Breaking News

    Lethpora CRPF camp attack: NIA Court frames charges against 4 accused


    JAMMU: Special Judge NIA Jammu Sunit Gupta on Friday formally framed charges against Fayaz Ahmad Magray, Nisar Ahmad Tantray, Syed Hilal Andrabia and Irshad Ahmad Reshi in Lethpora CRPF Camp attack.

    According to NIA case, a large conspiracy was hatched by Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM), a proscribed militant Organisation, based in Pakistan with the connivance of their active members and supporters based in erstwhile state of J&K, such as accused Fayaz, Nisar, Hilal, Irshad and others to commit militant attack on CRPF Camp, Lethpora, Pulwama. 

    As a part of the conspiracy, three accused persons namely Fardeen, Manzoor Baba and Shakoor equipped with arms, ammunitions, UBGL, explosive and other material entered into the premises of CRPF Group Centre, Lethpora, Pulwama in intervening night of December 30-31, 2017 and committed a militant attack on CRPF personnel with their arms, ammunitions and explosive. The CRPF personnel and J&K Police retaliated in self-defence. The ensuing encounter with the terrorists continued upto 1st January 2018, in which aforesaid three militants were eliminated and five CRPF personnel were martyred while three others were seriously injured.

    A large quantity of arms, ammuni- tion, explosives and other incriminating articles including docu- ments were recovered from possession of slain militants. The infor- mation about the militant attack was received by Police Station Awantipora on December 31, 2017 at about 2.15 hours. On basis of aforesaid information, a case vide FIR No. 150/2017, dated December 31, 2017 for the offences under Sections 459, 460, 307 & 302 of RPC, Section 7/27 of Arms Act and Sections 16, 18 & 20 of UA(P) Act was registered at Police Station Awantipora.

    Special Judge NIA Sunit Gupta, after hearing both sides, farmed charges under Section 120-B read with offences under Sections 121, 121-A, 122, 123, 302, 307, 325 of RPC and Sections 18, 19,

    20, 39 of UA(P) Act against Fayaz Ahmad Magray, Nisar Ahmad Tantray, Syed Hilal Andrabia and Irshad Ahmad Reshi.

    No comments